| Author |
Message |
jennyownz Newbie

Posts: 2 Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Karma: 0 Trade Record: 0
|
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:59 am Post subject: W-9? |
|
|
I recently signed up to get a free GPS on electronicssource.us.com. I completed both required silver offers, and they approved. Now, they are telling me to print a W-9 form and mail it to them in order to get the GPS. I am a little skeptical about this, because on that form it asks for a SSN. Is it safe to give? Does anybody have experience with this?
Thanks! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
dmorris68 FiPG Coder
 FiPG Admin

Posts: 8573 Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Karma: 362 Trade Record: 30
|
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
It's a legal tax requirement, and it's nothing to worry about. All freebie sites who ship gifts over $600 in value (and some for any value) must collect a W9 and must send you a 1099 at tax time, all of which requires your SSN.
And as we constantly remind people, the $600 threshold is just for requiring a W9 and sending a 1099, but you have to claim *any* amount as income on your taxes, even if under $600. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jennyownz Newbie

Posts: 2 Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Karma: 0 Trade Record: 0
|
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Thanks for the reply. Do you think it's completely safe to send it to them? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
dmorris68 FiPG Coder
 FiPG Admin

Posts: 8573 Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Karma: 362 Trade Record: 30
|
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| jennyownz wrote: |
| Thanks for the reply. Do you think it's completely safe to send it to them? |
Of course it is, and you don't have any choice if you want your freebie. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|