Arghh Internships, I want one but they are so hard to get :(

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=79216

Powerbook

02-10-2009 21:25:04

I have some decent work experience and a wonderful GPA, but since I am a business major it is super tough to find a good internship right now. Everyone wants MIS or IT right now. Any of you happen to know any recruiters for some good companies who are looking for finance, consulting, supply chain, HR, and other business fields? It looks like I will be volunteering again this summer. Don't get me wrong I like volunteering, but I want to do something different and possibly make some decent money.

tylerc

02-10-2009 22:11:45

You and me both man. I've got a solid GPA (3.6) and a pretty competitive resume, but I'm not getting shit. There was an accounting career fair here at school a few weeks ago, and BKD LLP (10th largest accounting firm in the U.S.) said they're only taking 3 interns this summer. I assume they meant from IU, but still, there's 5000 undergraduate students here! It's really frustrating, because everyone wants you to have experience, but no one is giving anything out.

nobody2000

03-10-2009 00:22:09

Internships are tough shit.

Either one of you guys have a SIFE (students in free enterprise) club in your schools? My undergrad school of less than 1000 had a SIFE team, and undergrad JUNIORS got decent internships at HSBC, KPMG, and some other places....some of these people I know had shit resumes and so-so GPAs...

Club affiliations are BIG. Check the alumni office, and see if you can get a hold of any alumni that may be looking for interns....a simple letter might open up an opportunity....some businesses despise interns, but many really find them valuable.

Hell, SIFE got me into the Buffalo MBA program, not anything amazing, but still top 50. I was a math and bio major with zero work experience. Check some things out.

Powerbook

03-10-2009 05:57:26