Workout and beer

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=77479

TravMan162

30-09-2008 15:06:17

So, this might be a bad idea, but i've been drinking before and during my workout and I've been putting up wayyyyyy more weight. I think the buzz might delay your muscle's response to when they should fail and allow you to continue your set whereas when sober you would fail quicker.

I could be wrong, but as soon as I started lifting with a buzz on, I repped the shit out of 200lbs on the flat bench (which is awesome for me cuz I have a really weak bench) and I don't get nearly as fatigued or tired as usual.

This is most likely going to end very badly, but i figured I'd share.

EatChex89

30-09-2008 15:46:33

How about creatine?

J4320

30-09-2008 16:08:09

My friend tried running with me after some beer. Surprisingly he managed very well.

ilanbg

30-09-2008 17:03:50

Alcohol does manage to prevent your nervous system from knowing when to stop. When I was drunk I've busted out 50 pushups in a minute, and on another occasion pulled off 30 pullups on a doorframe.

But alcohol is way bad for your physique. Prevents the absorption of protein, inhibits production of HGH, dehydrates you, and prevents you from knowing your own limits, among other things. Not a recommended strategy.

[quotec46c1babba]How about creatine?[/quotec46c1babba]

Not sure if this was sarcastic, but creatine essentially 'forces' water into your muscles. Unless you want to dehydrate yourself and trash your kidneys, you need to drink at least 3-4 times more water to supplement this. I only tried creatine once, before I found out about this, and almost puked before I even made it to the gym. Haven't tried it since but I'm starting to plateau so I might give it another try.

TravMan162

30-09-2008 18:23:35