Oxygen to a job interview

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=67996

cubbieco

09-08-2007 23:40:37

I'm getting fed up with my job search. I am a trained accountant with 5 years experience and a Masters Degree. My resume is good and I get 1 or 2 interviews every week. I send out resumes from the local paper as well as searching online for job listings in my area. I'm currently underemployed and working at night. I really need to get a day job that pays me what I'm worth.

I have had no less than 18 interviews and 0 job offers. Since companies don't interview 18 people for each job the law of averages indicates that I should have had an offer by now (actually about 3 since companies are interviewing 6 or so people). I don't think that my interview skills are particularly lacking. When asked I indicate my salary range is $38,000 to $44,000 which is right what a person with my experience should expect.

I believe the problem is that I wear a portable oxygen tank. I sometimes mention why I have it, but I sometimes don't. For the sake of curiosity I had a pulmonary embolism about 3 years ago (big blood clots in my lungs due to a genetic factor) and I received permanent damage. I can go for long periods without wearing my oxygen without any major effects as long as I'm careful.

The question is Should I keep wearing my oxygen to job interviews or should I leave it in the car?

I'm a very honest person and I feel bad about potentially deceiving somebody. The first day of work when I show up with oxygen may be a bit awkward. At the same time at least I will have a better job.

I know there are some professionals here and I would appreciate your opinions.

h3x

10-08-2007 00:38:26

If you can go through with the interview without it, then I would leave it in the car (but only if you can get to it easily in case you need it).