Have any ideas what is causing my dogs butt to go bald ???

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=64279

Margot530

12-06-2007 14:14:55

I have a lot of knowledge with regards to animals and their health issues, but this one has me stumped. My Lab Bubba is continually biting and chewing on his mid section (stomach, balls and all oops ) and he is now gnawing on his hind legs and butt...he is loosing all the hair in these areas, and even has a thickening of the tissues around his muzzle. Whatever it is that is causing it is not contagious, as I have other dogs that are not affected at all.

Have heard of something like this, but it was contagious, like mites or mange...this is not the problem. Vets in my area wont give info over the phone, and a visit is nearly 100 plus and tests done and meds. If this is something I can treat myself, and get the supplies from the local feed store, that would be preferable. It sounds quite funny, but the poor guy is going bonkers and is starting to look more than a little strange. shock

Any ideas?

Thanks so much,

Margot wink

TryinToGetPaid

12-06-2007 14:16:32

Sigh, I do not think any one here is a veterinarian. But I can try and help. My girlfriends dog bit his ass to where there was no hair or anything. And it was because his crap was stuck in his digestive tract, so they have to clear it all out. They said it was a pretty common thing, so if the dog hasn't dropped a deuce ina while, take him to a vet.

Margot530

12-06-2007 14:20:52

[quote0f22a78689="TryinToGetPaid"]Sigh, I do not think any one here is a veterinarian. But I can try and help. My girlfriends dog bit his ass to where there was no hair or anything. And it was because his crap was stuck in his digestive tract, so they have to clear it all out. They said it was a pretty common thing, so if the dog hasn't dropped a deuce ina while, take him to a vet.[/quote0f22a78689]