Camcorder & video editing for Windows!

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=44864

Veek

26-08-2006 14:46:58

Hi. Some of you know that I'm a photographer, but if you don't, you know now. P

Anyway, I've decided to do "behind the scenes" videos. I'm wondering if anyone knows how I would go about doing this. Obviously I need a camera, and have done some research but am unsure in which direction I should go. Camcorders with DVD-RW discts? Etc? Transfer using USB?

Also, I'm on Windows and need a program which I can load the video into from the camera, and edit. All I'm really going to do is put music over the video, and edit in scenes from the shoot. Say a little scene from where the models are getting ready or posing, and it cuts to the final image zooming into the window slowly, and so on.

If anyone has ever done this, or know how I would go about it, I'd appreciate it. Also, if anyone is into this and have examples of your work, I'd like to see it.

Gracias!

Darkside

26-08-2006 14:56:22

pannasonic gs series 3ccd cameras. Cheapest reasonably professional option. They're mini-dv and transfer real time over fire wire.

As for software, Pinnacle Studio should be perfect for your usage. User friendly, but will produce fairly professional results.

dmorris68

26-08-2006 14:58:07

Go with any good miniDV camcorder. Canon and Sony make good consumer-level miniDV models. Firewire is preferred over USB for capture, it's faster and often allows for higher resolution captures. For example my Sony DCR-HC40 has both Firewire and USB, but USB is crippled to 320x240 capture IIRC. I would stay away from the DVD camcorders, they are not reliable, tend to be noisy, and image quality can suffer. When you edit the video later, you're editing then re-encoding an already lossy format, resulting in degredation.