Home Theater PC help!

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=40177

JOSHBOX

29-05-2006 09:26:56

Normally I am an expert when it comes to computer hardware but I have never set up a home theater pc nor am I familiar with the tv tuner/tv out components. Basically I am setting my dad up with the main components for a home theater pc for his birthday (shuttle xpc case+mobo, amd 3000+ proc, 1Gb 3200 ram, and windows remote control. He is still going to need an AGP video card with HDTV out, HDTV in tuner, and a quiet 250-500GB HDD depending on price (hoping around 100$ or less per component). If you could reccomend any of those parts for a microatx computer (keep in mind it only has a 200 or 250 watt power supply. Thanks for your help!

Wolfeman

29-05-2006 10:16:17

Paging dmorris...

dmorris68

29-05-2006 11:37:48

My HTPC boxes have always been MythTV (Linux) based. Not for the faint of heart unless you're a Linux junkie. )

That said, I can recommend some components that work well for HTPC's no matter th OS or PVR software

li The best tuners are the Happauge WinTV models, specifically the PVR-150, PVR-250, PVR-350, and PVR-500. The PVR-500 is basically two PVR-150's bundled together, to give you dual tuners in a single card. All of these have hardware MPEG2 encoders which take a lot of the recording workload off the CPU. The PVR-350 adds MPEG2 decoding in hardware and it's own frame buffer (i.e. it works as a standalone video card). However the 350 is expensive and can be temperamental. MPEG decoding isn't nearly as costly as MPEG encoding, so you'd be better served by the cheaper versions.

li For video cards, if you're running Windows XP/MCE, you can go with ATI or Nvidia. If you intend to run MythTV or other Linux PVR, forget ATI and go Nvidia. I have the NVidia 6200 AX in my Myth box, which has HDTV component output if your HDTV or AV receiver doesn't have VGA or DVI inputs.