Distortion Pedal

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=26031

drummer_kew_03

09-11-2005 01:21:30

My second question of the night. I've been playing the acoustic for awhile, but i'm kinda new to electrics. I'm wanting to get a nice distortion pedal for under $100. Anybody have some suggestions?

ltsmash2

09-11-2005 05:30:22

If you are looking to first start in pedals, I suggest a pedal that has lots of sounds (multieffects) and options at first to find out what you like. I first got a Zoom 505 II and really enjoyed it. Lots of sounds to play with. For a really heavy sound I use a MXR DD-11 Dime Distortion from Jim Dunlop (Dimebag Darrel producing sounds, about $140) for a tight aggressive sound. If I want something really full, I run an overdrive, reverb combo through my pre amp into my favorite amp on the internal distorted channel, my Marshall. Boss pedals and DOD are good ones as well. So basically there are a lot of things to consider when looking for a pedal. What type of guitar you have, pickups and amp all will change the way the sound will be. As I first stated, the best bet is to pick up a pedal that has a multieffects processer in it. It won't necessarily be the cleanest sound, but it allows the opportunity to find out what you like and what you are looking for and that way you can late purchase dedicated pedals to customize your rig.

tracemhunter

09-11-2005 06:16:23

when i played guitar i had a danelectro sitar swami. it was awesome.

Jake

09-11-2005 09:58:21

I used a Boss Metalzone back when I was a teenager and it served me pretty well.

srichter

09-11-2005 11:41:25

boss DS-1

Diablo NW

09-11-2005 13:35:49

I have a ibanez sm7 smash box and i love it. YOu can set it so u get no annoying feedback.

slease

09-11-2005 13:52:04

[quote41ff1cd8ec="srichter"]boss DS-1[/quote41ff1cd8ec]

Blech.

Get the metalzone, it'll give you many more settings than this fuzz box.