An open-letter to all!!

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=55770

gizzyshears

04-03-2007 15:56:13

An open-letter to all frustrated newbies
And Gurus in Freebie Land!

I’m a recent newbie! The promo piece that got me here (unfortunately) like all other programs makes everything sound like a “no-brainer” but leaves us hanging!! All you Gurus out there take a look at all the newbie threads “I need help” – “I’m confused” – “What do I trade if I have nothing to trade?” We are not getting it and since there seem to be hundreds out there who are making money with this thing, why are we not getting it???

I’ll use an analogy to make a point Guy gets hired, shows up for work, someone dumps a manual in his hand and says “have at it”. Or – Instead, when the guy shows up for work, he is told to read the manual first. Then he is taken step-by-step, shown answers to his questions through the actual job processes by an experience worker for that job. Then the newbie starts the process step-by-step and the mentor steps in to assist when a hangup occurs. Soon – the newbie is handling all his responsibility in confidence, without undue frustration!

Sorry to say all of you gurus are so full of techie-talk you just assume all newbies will be able to stumble around and eventually get most of it! But usually they get so frustrated they just give up!

Before I retired, I was a tech writer in a publications department of a company that produced heavy loader equipment. I had to make technical stuff understandable to people (off the street) who would be hired to operate and service the equipment. Our rule-of-thumb was to bring all instruction communication down to 6th grade level. I struggled constantly with engineering techies who had a difficult time communicating down to the level I needed to produce usable manuals.