How does one get scammed?

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=43170

Quintox

19-07-2006 07:00:06

I'm new to this, and just wondering, how is it possible to get scammed if you pay someone for refs, and you just wait till it's green

dmorris68

19-07-2006 07:23:52

Because scammers will typically defraud offers & sites by signing up multiple times and with fake info. Most of the time they will go green before going red, so they collect on the greens then bolt before going red. Some actually have the nerve to hang around and make excuses for going red, and continue to try to trade.

Not saying everyone who has gone red is a scammer, sometimes mistakes happen and it's unintentional or a site misjudged circumstances. The difference between that and a scammer is that a reputable trader will make things right without a lot of hassle.

Quintox

19-07-2006 07:29:12

So how do you prevent/catch this? Is there a certain amount of time before he/she goes red?

dmorris68

19-07-2006 07:57:29

[quote1dcd7383df="Quintox"]So how do you prevent/catch this? Is there a certain amount of time before he/she goes red?[/quote1dcd7383df]
There is no reliable way to "catch" it before it happens. You attempt to protect yourself by trading with established traders who are active on the forums and committed to the industry. Even that doesn't always work, because we've had several long-term and/or high-TR people decide to retire from the scene and take as much money or greens with them as they can get.

Sometimes when dealing with people who have scammed in the past but come back apologetic and promising to change their ways, you can work out a deal where you wait until your account is approved and their green stands, before reciprocating on your end of the trade.

Trading always involves risk. You can never eliminate it, but you can take steps to reduce the likelyhood.