Can someone give me a brief lesson on Monitors?

Live forum: http://forum.freeipodguide.com/viewtopic.php?t=12124

amishjs

19-04-2005 19:26:28

I'm fairly close to completing freeminimacs and want to get a flat panel monitor to go with it. I have some basic but limited knowledge about them but want to get your opinions/suggestions about what will go best with my mini.

Ideally I would like to get a wide screen flat panel that I can also use as a TV. Does DVI mean that a monitor can accept an HDTV signal?

I've been sort of looking at the Dell 20" widescreen. I think its called the 2005FPW or something like that. Do you guys know if that will work with the Mini, and if it will accept a TV signal as well?

Note, I'm not a big gamer so a superfast response time is not THAT critical too me.

chillywilly

19-04-2005 20:23:01

Not all that experienced with LCD monitors, but the one thing I do know is that you want DVI.. even if it costs more.

If you can get a good price on an LCD monitor with a VGA connector, that would be good to use until you can upgrade to one with a DVI.

The VGA connector is analog and the DVI is digital. Much cleaner picture and resolution is handled differently and more efficient.

whenrabbisattack

19-04-2005 20:45:36

my newest monitor has both VGA and DVI inputs... and a button to switch between which one it's using. i just don't see how this analog signal can get any better... gues i have to wait for my mac mini

mapStuart

19-04-2005 21:15:40

hey,

I have the 2005FPW and its a superb monitor. I intend to hook the mini up to its analog input (I have my Dell PC's two DVI outputs connected to the other DVI input and my other LCD). It can also accept TV in via its S-Video or Composite (Yellow, not component) inputs.